Update: We are fully operational and working remotely amidst COVID-19. Our attorneys are available to provide you with a free consultation 24/7. Call or contact us online today.

Point Pleasant Office


Simple Assault Charges in Brick NJ

Our law firm has successfully handled thousands of criminal, DWI, and municipal court charges throughout Ocean County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

Simple Assault Attorney Brick NJ

If you have been arrested and charged with Simple Assault, under NJSA 2C12-1, then you have taken to right step to learn more about these charges. Regardless if the incident arose from a domestic violence dispute or was a momentary lapse in judgement, the penalties and consequences remain the same. Not only are you facing possible jail time but you will also have a permanent criminal record, if convicted. The long-term ramifications are almost endless and demand that you act now to avoid future harm. If you are facing assault or battery charges in Brick, New Jersey, help is available. The criminal defense lawyers at Proetta & Oliver are ready and able to take up your cause in this fight. Our strong record and reputation amongst prosecutors, defense attorneys and judges is representative of our strong work ethic and legal acumen. Call 848-238-2100 today and schedule your complimentary consultation with an attorney at our Point Pleasant Office.

NJ Simple Assault Law

Simple assault is most commonly charged as a disorderly persons offense based on the following actions:

What Does it Mean to Act Negligently?

You may have noticed that the second type of conduct that could lead to simple assault charges involves “negligently cause bodily injury with a deadly weapon.” But what does “negligent” mean? Under New Jersey law, in order to act negligently you must commit the act when you know there is a knowing, substantial, and unjustifiable risk of the injury. Proof of negligence may be based on the circumstances and inferences a judge or jury may deem apparent in your underlying situation. Consult with an attorney to find out how this may apply to your case.

N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1 Penalties

A conviction for simple assault carries with it a six (6) month jail term, $1,000 fine, community service requirements, possible probation, restitution and a criminal record.

Representation With A Personal Touch

Having spent our professional careers as practicing attorneys, we understand that many clients want to be an active participant in their own cases. Our firm will handle your matter with a deft hand to ensure that we are meeting your expectations and constantly keeping you “in the loop.” It is your reputation and future that are on trial and you deserve to be a informed of the status of your case every step of the way. Call 848-238-2100 today and learn what our firm can offer you or your loved ones in there criminal case.


Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.


3828 River Road, Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: (848) 238-2100

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


242 10th Street Suite 103 Jersey City, NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, NJ 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions