Update: We are fully operational and working remotely amidst COVID-19. Our attorneys are available to provide you with a free consultation 24/7. Call or contact us online today.

Point Pleasant Office



Our law firm has successfully handled thousands of criminal, DWI, and municipal court charges throughout Ocean County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

Lacey Township NJ Theft LawyerOfficers from the Lacey Township Police Department are currently investigating an alleged theft reported by a man in Lanoka Harbor. The alleged victim told police that his handgun was stolen out of his garage recently.

According to Lacey police, a man reported his gun stolen out of the garage at his residence on Clairmore Avenue in Lanoka Harbor sometime between 8:00 a.m. and 8:15 a.m. on Sunday, August 6th. The firearm has been described as a 9 mm worth approximately $300. The man told police that he left the gun in the unlocked garage because he intended to clean it.

Now, police are searching for any potential leads as to who may have stolen the handgun. If they do ultimately identify and charge a suspect in connection with this incident, the person may face a host of serious criminal charges. First and foremost, they may be charged with burglary, which is typically a third degree crime in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2 of the New Jersey Criminal Code. According to this statute, a person can be charged with burglary if he or she enters or remains in a structure (in this case a garage) with the intent to commit a theft therein.

Additionally, the defendant may be charged with theft for allegedly stealing the property in question, specifically, the gun. Note that a person can be charged with both burglary and theft in a case like this because burglary requires only the “intent” to commit a theft, not the actual commission of one.

Lastly, the alleged offender in this case could face charges for unlawful possession of a weapon, as he or she did not obtain or possess the gun through lawful means. In fact, you can be charged with unlawful possession of a weapon in New Jersey if you possess any handgun without first obtaining a firearms purchaser identification card to purchase the weapon, and then a permit to carry it. Unlawful possession of a handgun is classified as a second degree crime, as explained under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-5. These charges entail a New Jersey State Prison term ranging from 5 to 10 years, as well as a mandatory period of parole ineligiblity per the terms of the NJ Graves Act.

Clearly, if police apprehend and charge a suspect in connection with this case, the person is exposed to severe repercussions. Whether or not this investigation leads to criminal charges remains to be seen.

For additional information related to this incident, access the following article: 9mm handgun stolen out of Lacey garage

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.


3828 River Road, Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: (848) 238-2100

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


242 10th Street Suite 103 Jersey City, NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, NJ 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions