Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Point Pleasant Office

FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

NJ Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)

Our law firm has successfully handled thousands of criminal, DWI, and municipal court charges throughout Ocean County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

Ocean County NJ Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)

Attorneys at the Law Offices of William A. Proetta represent clients who have been charged with Driving Under the Influence of Narcotics (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) throughout New Jersey including in Toms River, Point Pleasant, and Jackson. Our experienced criminal defense lawyers are available 24/7 to assist you at (848) 238-2100. You initial consultation will be free of charge.

Ocean County, NJ IDRC Attorney

If you or your loved one has been convicted of a drunk driving offense in New Jersey, then you will probably be required to attend the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) as part of your sentence. A first time offender will be sentenced to a minimum of twelve hours in the IDRC. Second time offenders are sentenced to a minimum of forty-eight hours in the IDRC. Finally, 3rd time offenders are sentenced to 180 days in jail, of which can be served at an inpatient rehabilitation facility. However, upon release from jail or rehab, a 3rd  DWI offender must submit to a twelve hour IDRC evaluation.

IDRC garners its authority from within DWI statute in New Jersey, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 which provides in pertinent part:

f) The counties, in cooperation with the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse and the commission, but subject to the approval of the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse, shall designate and establish on a county or regional basis Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers. These centers shall have the capability of serving as community treatment referral centers and as court monitors of a person’s compliance with the ordered treatment, service alternative or community service. All centers established pursuant to this subsection shall be administered by a counselor certified by the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Certification Board of New Jersey or other professional with a minimum of five years’ experience in the treatment of alcoholism. All centers shall be required to develop individualized treatment plans for all persons attending the centers; provided that the duration of any ordered treatment or referral shall not exceed one year. It shall be the center’s responsibility to establish networks with the community alcohol and drug education, treatment and rehabilitation resources and to receive monthly reports from the referral agencies regarding a person’s participation and compliance with the program. Nothing in this subsection shall bar these centers from developing their own education and treatment programs; provided that they are approved by the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse. Upon a person’s failure to report to the initial screening or any subsequent ordered referral, the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center shall promptly notify the sentencing court of the person’s failure to comply.

Required detention periods at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers shall be determined according to the individual treatment classification assigned by the Intoxicated Driving Program Unit. Upon attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, a person shall be required to pay a per diem fee of $75.00 for the first offender program or a per diem fee of $100.00 for the second offender program, as appropriate. Any increases in the per diem fees after the first full year shall be determined pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the Commissioner of Health and Senior Services in consultation with the Governor’s Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse pursuant to the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c. 410.

For additional assistance regarding your DWI or IRDC, feel free to contact the Ocean County DWI defense lawyers at the Law Offices of William A. Proetta. We are available 24/7 and conveniently located in Toms River. You can reach us at (848) 238-2100.

Related DWI Information

Ocean County Towns Served

New Jersey First Offense DWI

Forked River NJ DWI Lawyer

Ocean County Field Sobriety Tests

Underage DUI Attorney in Seaside

Alcotest 7110

Eagleswood Refusal Lawyer

NJ Ignition Interlock Device

Beachwood NJ Drunk Driving Lawyer

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.

POINT PLEASANT OFFICE

3828 River Road, Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: (848) 238-2100

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

EDISON OFFICE

3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

JERSEY CITY OFFICE

101 Hudson St, 21st floor Jersey City NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

CRANFORD OFFICE

20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, New Jersey 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions