Attorneys for Uninsured Driver Tickets in Jackson, New Jersey
With the exception of Driving While Intoxicated and Driving Under the Influence of Drugs, Driving without insurance is probably the most serious motor vehicle violation under NJ traffic law. The substantial penalties associated with the violation are among the most severe. If you or your loved one is found guilty of operating a motor vehicle without insurance, then the consequences that you face will include a mandatory one year loss of license, community service, surcharges, and even a possibility of county jail time. Unfortunately, New Jersey does not offer any “hardship” or work license program for individuals convicted on driving without insurance charges. This means that the suspension period is absolute. Furthermore, if you are caught driving while suspended then you face additional penalties including additional loss of license. The Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver has successfully defended clients against a wide array of municipal court charges and motor vehicle violations including driving without insurance. Often, our attorneys are able to get amend these charges to lesser offenses or even dismissed altogether. In these cases, our clients avoid loss of license. We represent clients throughout Ocean County and New Jersey including Toms River, Stafford Township, Lacey, Berkeley Township, Barnegat, Brick, and Jackson. To explore the possibility of representation, contact our office in Toms River at (848) 238-2100 for a free initial consultation with an experienced Ocean County driving without insurance attorney.
Driving without Insurance in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2
New Jersey law adheres to a “strict liability” theory for motor vehicle insurance. This means that a driver without insurance may not use the excuse that he or she did not know that the vehicle was uninsured, but rather the act (and not the lack of knowledge of the act), is the offense in and of itself). The responsibility in these cases always rests with the owner or title-holder of the vehicle. However, a person who drives a vehicle is subject to being ticketed for 39:6B-2 driving without insurance even if that person is operating another’s car that is not properly insured. New Jersey law requires that auto insurance must cover at least $15,000 personal injury or death, $30,000 for multi-injury/death and $5,000 for damage to property. Anything less is inadequate. The purpose behind this driving without insurance statute is to encourage the public to purchase motor vehicle insurance in order to make New Jersey’s roadways and drivers safer. It is for these reasons that the court will often consider multiple factors on how it will prosecute the charge. These may include: 1) the reason for the lapse in coverage, 2) how long you were without insurance, and 3) whether you were properly notified of the termination of coverage.
Penalties for NJ Driving without Insurance Offenses
1st Offense Driving Without Insurance
1 year loss of license
Potential community service
2nd or Subsequent Driving Without Insurance
Mandatory 14 days county jail
2 year loss of license
30 days community service
Petition DMV for your license
Contact a Lacey Twp. NJ Driving With No Insurance Lawyer about Your Case
When it comes to fighting serious traffic violations, an experienced traffic defense lawyer can play a great role in the outcome of your case. At the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver, our attorneys understand the court system and opportunities to explore to have these charges downgraded or even dismissed entirely. If the court takes a hard stance on your uninsured case, our lawyers will put the state to their burden of establishing the elements and all of their proofs at trial, which can be a daunting task for the prosecution. If you or a loved one is facing a driving without insurance violation, contact our office today for a free consultation in which we will discuss the facts of your case and build a customized case strategy designed to meet your needs. We have representatives available 24/7 to answer your calls.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.