Criminal Defense Attorneys in Ocean County, New Jersey
With countless bars, clubs, and nightlife at the Jersey Shore, there are tons of places to go for young people and their friends. However, being under the legal age to drink alcohol in New Jersey (21), can present a serious problem. Most places will not even allow you through the door, much less serve you alcohol on the premises, without a valid form of identification verifying your age. Many young people attempt to circumvent this by displaying a fake ID. Unfortunately, possession of a fake ID is a serious criminal offense in New Jersey, the results of which can be damaging in both the short and long-term. In fact, if you are convicted of possessing a fake ID in New Jersey, you may be sentenced to jail time, heavy fines, community service, and a period a driver’s license suspension. You will also be left with a charge on your criminal record that can hinder future opportunities for education or employment. At Proetta & Oliver, our Ocean County criminal defense attorneys have handled thousands of municipal and superior court cases, including those involving Fake ID’s, for clients throughout New Jersey. With offices in Toms River, we regularly appear in courts in Point Pleasant, Seaside Heights, Lavallette, Beach Haven, Seaside Park, Long Beach Township, and throughout Ocean County. If you have been charged with possession of a fake ID, underage drinking, disorderly conduct, underage DWI, or a similar offense in Ocean County or elsewhere at the Jersey Shore, contact our offices anytime at (848) 238-2100 for a free consultation.
Fake ID Charges in New Jersey
There are several criminal offenses associated with Fake IDs in New Jersey, the first of which is outlined in section N.J.S.A. 33:1-81 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, entitled “Underage drinking and Misrepresenting age to induce sale or delivery to minor.” According to this statute, it is unlawful for a person to misrepresent or misstate their age, or the age of any other person, for the purpose of inducing any licensee or any employee of any licensee, to sell, serve or deliver any alcoholic beverage to a person under the legal age for purchasing alcoholic beverages. A violation of this section is considered a disorderly persons offense, which is punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail, a fine of up to $1,000 (minimum fine of $500), and a 6-month suspension or postponement of your driver’s license.
The second charge often issued in fake ID cases can be found under N.J.S.A. 2C:28-7, known as “Tampering with Public Records or Information.” A person can be charged with a violation of this statute if he or she:
Knowingly makes a false entry in, or false alteration of, any record, document or thing belonging to, or received or kept by, the government for information or record, or required by law to be kept by others for information of the government;
Makes, presents, offers for filing, or uses any record, document or thing knowing it to be false, and with purpose that it be taken as a genuine part of information or records referred to in paragraph (1); or
Purposely and unlawfully destroys, conceals, removes, mutilates, or otherwise impairs the verity or availability of any such record, document or thing.
Tampering with public records or information is typically a disorderly persons offense, which may result in a sentence to serve up to 6 months in the county jail, a maximum fine of $1,000, and a conviction on your criminal record.
What is Considered a Fake ID in NJ?
There are two distinct fake ID scenarios. First, if you possess any form of identification that has been forged or altered to provide false information about your identity, you can be charged with possession of a fake ID. Second, you can face charges for Fake ID possession if you display someone else’s valid ID but claim it as your own. In other words, if you have an older sibling whose driver’s license you use to gain admittance into a bar, you can be charged with a fake ID offense.
Contact Seaside Heights NJ Fake ID Defense Lawyers for a Free Consultation
If you or your child has been charged with fake ID possession or another underage alcohol-related offense in Ocean County, our criminal defense lawyers can help. We have had numerous fake ID charges downgraded to municipal ordinances and dismissed altogether for clients just like you. To discuss your specific case and being building your best defense strategy, contact our Toms River offices today at (848) 238-2100.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.