Update: We are fully operational and working remotely amidst COVID-19. Our attorneys are available to provide you with a free consultation 24/7. Call or contact us online today.

Point Pleasant Office


Ignition Interlock Device – NJ MVC

Our law firm has successfully handled thousands of criminal, DWI, and municipal court charges throughout Ocean County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

New Jersey Ignition Interlock Device

A common tool used by municipal courts throughout NJ and Ocean County to prevent second and subsequent offense DWI’s is the Ignition Interlock Device (IID). It is also known as the Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID). The IID is a mechanism much like a Breathalyzer that is installed on a motor vehicle’s dashboard. To successfully start the vehicle, the driver must exhale into the device. The car will only start if the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of the driver satisfies New Jersey’s statutory requirement of .05%. Furthermore, drivers are often required to exhale into the IID at various times after the automobile has started to ensure that the driver has remained alcohol-free during operation of the vehicle. A common misconception accompanying the design and function of the ignition interlock device is that the car will turn off if the driver’s BAC is over the statutorily prescribed limit. If the driver’s BAC s unacceptable, the IID will actually warn the driver to turn off the ignition by causing the car to engage in horn honking, flashing lights, etc.

Ocean County, NJ DWI Ignition Interlock Device Law

Courts typically impose the installation if IIDs into the vehicles of persons convicted of Driving While Intoxicated based upon the number of previous DWI or DUI offenses, as well as the driver’s blood alcohol concentration at the time of the offense if the person is a first offender. For a first offense DWI, the ignition interlock device is required for a period of 3 months if the driver’s BAC was less than 0.10%. The IID is required for a period ranging from 7 months to 1 year for a BAC between 0.10% and up to 0.15%. Moreover, for a first offense with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, the interlock device is required for 9 months to 15 months following a 4 month to 6-month period of license suspension. Additionally, if a first time DUI offender was arrested and refused to comply with the officer’s administration of the Alcotest 7110, then the court SHALL impose a mandatory installation of an IID for the length of the suspension and for 6-12 months after the suspension. In the event of a second offense, third offense, and subsequent DWI convictions, the court will impose the mandatory installation of the device for the length of the suspension AND an additional 2-4 years following the restoration of driving privileges. For more information and frequently asked question regarding the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device, feel free to visit the NJ MVC IID page.

Stafford Township NJ DUI Lawyer

If you have been arrested for a Driving While Intoxicated in Ocean County, NJ including Brick, Jackson, Lakewood, Seaside, Point Pleasant, Stafford, Manchester, or Berkeley Township, then you can obviously see that the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device into your automobile is a costly, burdensome, and potentially embarrassing consequence of a DWI conviction. Additional penalties for first, second, third, and subsequent DUI offenses include jail time, community service, and steep monetary fines. If you or your loved one is facing these consequences as a result of an Ocean County DWI arrest, then please contact the Toms River based Law Offices of William A. Proetta today to give yourself the best chance to avoid the charges that you face. Our attorneys are available 24/7 and initial consultations are free of charge. To build a case strategy to meet your needs call (848) 238-2100.

Related DWI Information

Ocean County Towns Served

New Jersey Blood Sample DWI

Surf City NJ DWI Attorneys

Ocean County Field Sobriety Tests

Drug DUI Lawyer in Point Pleasant

New Jersey Alcotest 7110

Little Egg Harbor Refusal Lawyer


Lakehurst NJ Underage DWI Attorney

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.


3828 River Road, Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: (848) 238-2100

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


242 10th Street Suite 103 Jersey City, NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions


20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, NJ 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions