Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Point Pleasant Office

FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

Graves Act

Our law firm has successfully handled thousands of criminal, DWI, and municipal court charges throughout Ocean County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

Barnegat NJ Gun Attorney

The Graves Act was a 1981 amendment to the New Jersey Criminal Code, which provides for mandatory minimum sentences for individuals convicted of certain specified violent crimes while they are in possession of or use a firearm during the commission of, attempt to commit, or flight from the commission of a crime. Typically, our clients’ concerns are over which crimes trigger the application of the Graves Act. Currently, the list of included crimes is as follows:

The Graves Act was amended in 2008, so that the mandatory parole ineligibility applies to defendants convicted of possession of a firearm with the intent to use it either against the person or the property of another.

What is a Minimum Term of Imprisonment Under the Graves Act?

For these offenses the terms of imprisonment must include a minimum term of imprisonment. The minimum term for any crime of the first, second or third degree must be at least 3 years. When the judge moves for sentencing, they must fix a minimum term of between one-third and one-half of the sentence it imposed. If one half the sentence imposed would be less than three years, the minimum sentence is three years. For a fourth degree crime the mandatory sentence is 18 months. During this minimum time period the defendant is not eligible for parole.

Is there a Mandatory Extended Term Under the Graves Act?

If a person has previously been convicted of one of the above-mentioned offenses involving the use or possession of a firearm and then is subsequently convicted of one of those offenses and if in the second offense the person uses or possesses a firearm either during its commission, attempted commission or flight, the court must sentence the defendant to an extended term. This extended term is mandatory for this subsequent offender.

Toms River Criminal Defense Attorneys

Call 848-238-2100 today and speak with an Ocean County Weapons Attorney immediately. If you or someone you love are facing charges involving burglary, aggravated assault, carjacking, or robbery and were using a gun during the commission of this crime, they are facing mandatory imprisonment. Allow our criminal trial attorneys to work on your behalf and keep you or your loved one out of jail and home where they belong.

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.

POINT PLEASANT OFFICE

3828 River Road, Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: (848) 238-2100

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

EDISON OFFICE

3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

JERSEY CITY OFFICE

101 Hudson St, 21st floor Jersey City NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

CRANFORD OFFICE

20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, New Jersey 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions