Disorderly persons offenses are extremely common in New Jersey, encompassing offenses ranging from simple assault and possession of marijuana, to criminal mischief, disorderly conduct, and possession of drug paraphernalia. Pursuant to New Jersey law, the expungement of Disorderly Persons Offenses (DP’s) is possible after five years from the completion of the sentencing requirements brought on by a previous conviction. Furthermore, an individual may not have more than 2 DPs on their record when seeking an expungement. At the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver, our lawyers handle expungement of disorderly persons offenses in Point Pleasant, Seaside Heights, Seaside Park, Lavallette, Toms River, Lacey Township, and throughout Ocean County, New Jersey. If you are confused as to whether or not you have disorderly persons offenses or indictable offenses on your record, please visit our Classes of Offenses page, or contact our Ocean County expungement lawyers to discuss your particular situation and learn more about your expungement eligibility. We are available anytime to assist you and we provide consultations free of charge. Simply contact our offices in Toms River at (848) 238-2100 today for more information.
The following statute addresses the expungement of Disorderly persons Offenses in New Jersey.
§ 2C:52-3. Disorderly persons offenses and petty disorderly persons offenses
Any person convicted of a disorderly persons offense or petty disorderly persons offense under the laws of this State who has not been convicted of any prior or subsequent crime, whether within this State or any other jurisdiction, or of another three disorderly persons or petty disorderly persons offenses, may, after the expiration of a period of 5 years from the date of his conviction, payment of fine, satisfactory completion of probation or release from incarceration, whichever is later, present a duly verified petition as provided in section 2C:52-7 hereof to the Superior Court in the county in which the conviction was entered praying that such conviction and all records and information pertaining thereto be expunged.
Contact a Ship Bottom NJ Expungement Lawyer to Discuss Your Specific Case
As you can see, if you have met all of the requirements for expungement eligibility, you may apply for an expungement of a disorderly persons offense after five years from the date of the final resolution of the matter. If you are interested in applying for an expungement in Ocean County or anywhere else in New Jersey, please feel free to contact our office at (848) 238-2100 for a free consultation with an Ocean County expungement lawyer. We are conveniently located in Toms River and look forward to assisting you.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.