Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Point Pleasant Office

FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

Driving While Suspended

Our law firm has successfully handled thousands of criminal, DWI, and municipal court charges throughout Ocean County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

Manchester NJ Driving with a Suspended License Lawyer

Driving with a suspended license on New Jersey roadways is a serious motor vehicle charge. It can result in the loss of your driving privileges and, in some cases, jail time for subsequent offenses. In recent years, the State of New Jersey has undertaken an effort to “crack down” on this charge through active police cruisers and aggressive prosecution. An experienced traffic defense attorney can help you. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver have represented clients against thousands of municipal court and motor vehicle charges over the years. Many of the charges involved included driving while suspended tickets. We defend clients throughout Ocean County and New Jersey, including Ocean Township, Lacey, Toms River, Jackson, Lakewood, Manchester, and Little Egg Harbor. If you or your loved one has been arrested and subsequently charged with driving while suspended in Ocean County or elsewhere at the Jersey Shore, then contact our office in Toms Ricer today at (848) 238-2100 for a free consultation with an experienced Ocean County traffic defense attorney.

New Jersey Driving with a Suspended License Law: N.J.S.A. 39:3-40

New Jersey Statute § N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 governs the violation of driving while suspended. We have provided in pertinent part below for your convenience:

No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition.

No person whose motor vehicle registration has been revoked shall operate or permit the operation of such motor vehicle during the period of such revocation.

Penalties for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey

The penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey according to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 are as follows:

First Offense Driving Suspended • Up to six (6) months additional license suspension

• $500 fine

Second Offense Driving Suspended • Mandatory 1 – 5 days in county jail

• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension

• $750 fine

Third of Subsequent Driving Suspended • Mandatory ten (10) days in county jail

• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension

• $1000 fine

As demonstrated in the above chart, driving with a suspended license in New Jersey is a very serious offense that can drastically impact your life. The loss of driving privileges is extremely inconvenient if you need to drive to and from work or school or are responsible for ensuring that family members get to and from work or school. Additionally, a conviction for driving with a suspended license will lead to costly insurance surcharges, insurance points, and a permanent record on your driver’s abstract. Often, a majority of our clients honestly did not even realize they were operating their vehicles on a suspended license at the time of the ticket or summons. This is often due to the fact that licenses are unknowingly suspended as a result of unpaid parking tickets, failure to appear in court, or the lapse of a mandatory surcharge payment.

Moreover, a conviction for driving while suspended or revoked may be magnified if the suspension was due to a serious charge such as a DWI (driving while intoxicated). If you or your loved one is found guilty of driving while suspended for DWI, you will serve mandatory jail time of up to ninety (90) days and face an additional loss of license of one to two years. An experienced defense attorney can work closely with the prosecutor and navigate the court system on your behalf in order to get your charges downgraded or even dismissed altogether.

Contact Jackson NJ Driving While Suspended Attorneys for a Free Consultation

If you or your loved one has been charged with driving with a suspended license in Ocean County, New Jersey, then contact our office today at (848) 238-2100 for a free consultation and case strategy session with an experienced Ocean County traffic defense lawyer. Our office is conveniently located in Toms River and we are available during regular business hours and will be happy to meet with you on nights and weekends upon request.

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. All major credit cards are accepted.

POINT PLEASANT OFFICE

3828 River Road, Point Pleasant, NJ 08742

Phone: (848) 238-2100

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

EDISON OFFICE

3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

JERSEY CITY OFFICE

101 Hudson St, 21st floor Jersey City NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

CRANFORD OFFICE

20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, New Jersey 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions