Criminal Charges in Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Charged at Jenkinson’s Boardwalk or Beach Bar?
At the Jersey Shore, Jenkinsons’s Boardwalk and Jenk’s Beach Bar are iconic spots to have a good time in the summer. Offering live music, cold drinks, and of course sand and sun, Jenkinson’s Beach Bar is located at 300 Ocean Avenue in Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey. The Beach Bar is situated on Jenkinson’s Board Walk, which has lots of family activities like mini golf, rides, arcade games, and more. Since families with children are enjoying the boardwalk while adult partygoers are having fun at the beach bar, board walk security and the Point Pleasant Beach Police Department do their best to make sure the area stays safe for everyone. Unfortunately, this leads to tons of arrests and criminal charges for individuals on the beach and boardwalk, some of the most common of which are disorderly conduct, simple assault, resisting arrest, possession of marijuana, cocaine possession, underage drinking, and possession of a fake ID.
If you went to Jenkinson’s Beach Bar, the Boardwalk, or a nearby area in Point Pleasant Beach for a good time and ended up being arrested or issued a summons, there is some important information you need to know. Whether you were having a little too much fun or encountered the wrong person while partying at Jenk’s, you are not the first person to run into legal trouble at this famous establishment. What matters most is that you enlist an experienced Point Pleasant criminal defense attorney who can achieve the best possible outcome in your case, whether that means getting your charges dismissed or minimizing the penalties you face. To speak with a seasoned criminal lawyer in Point Pleasant, New Jersey, call (848) 238-2100 now and continue reading for more information about common criminal charges at Jenkinson’s.
Point Pleasant Disorderly Conduct Charges
Disorderly conduct is a petty disorderly persons offense and it covers a wide range of behaviors. If you get into a heated verbal argument with someone or use offensive language loudly, you may be charged with this offense and face up to 30 days of imprisonment and a fine of up to $500. Other types of behavior can also constitute disorderly conduct if your actions are disruptive, threatening, or create physical danger. The most damaging part of a disorderly conduct charge is that it will leave you with a criminal record, which can be a significant hindrance as you pursue opportunities in the future.
Simple Assault in Point Pleasant Beach
When alcohol is involved, it is easy for disagreements to quickly become heated arguments and heated arguments to quickly become physical altercations. If you get in a physical fight with someone at Jenkinson’s, you could be charged with simple assault, which is a disorderly persons offense and carries potential penalties of up to 6 months of imprisonment and up to a $1,000 fines. If a deadly weapon is used or the alleged victim is a law enforcement officer, that will raise the charge to aggravated assault, which is an indictable offense with more severe consequences.
Charged with Resisting Arrest at Jenkinson’s
If the police get involved and attempt to place you under arrest and you try to pull away, push them away, or in any way resist being handcuffed or arrested, you may be charged with resisting arrest. Whether you were intoxicated and not thinking clearly when you tried to resist arrest will not matter. Also, believing you are innocent and that you should not be arrested is also not an excuse as long as the police were acting under the color of the law. This could be charged as a disorderly persons offense or as a fourth degree indictable offense, if you resist arrest by running away from the police.
I was arrested at Jenkinson’s Boardwalk / Beach Bar, Now what?
If you are arrested by Point Pleasant Beach Police or issued a summons at Jenkinson’s Boardwalk or Beach Bar for a disorderly persons offense, your case will be heard at Point Pleasant Beach Municipal Court, located at 2233 Bridge Avenue in Point Pleasant, NJ. If you are charged with an indictable offense (a fourth, third, second, or first degree crime), your case will be heard at Ocean County Superior Court, located at 120 Hooper Avenue in Toms River, NJ. In either situation, you should not go to court alone. Trying to handle a criminal case yourself is often the biggest mistake you can make. Having a knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer who regularly appears on behalf of clients charged in Point Pleasant will provide you with a significant advantage when dealing with the prosecutor, the judge, and the complex legal system.
Criminal Lawyers in Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
With potential prison time, significant fines, and the threat of a criminal record, it is crucial to find an experienced criminal defense lawyer to defend you if you are accused of a disorderly persons offense or an indictable offense at Jenkinson’s or anywhere else in Point Pleasant Beach, NJ. The experienced Point Pleasant criminal defense lawyers at Proetta & Oliver defend clients facing a myriad of charges, ranging from aggravated assault on a police officer to providing alcohol to minors, DWI, heroin possession, and juvenile charges. Call our office in Point Pleasant today at (848) 238-2100 to receive a free consultation about your case.