According to an nj.com article, a Barnegat man was arrested on suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated at a McDonald’s Drive-thru at 2:00 p.m. on May 10 when he fell asleep somewhere between placing his order and the second window.
Employees, unable to awaken the gentlemen while he and his car were resting in the drive-thru line, called the police who arrested him on suspicion of a DWI. It is fair to say that he probably should have ordered delivery!
In New Jersey, a first offense DWI is quite serious. Not only will this individual face up to $1000 in fines, but there is also a $1000/year surcharge for three years following a DUI conviction. Additionally, he faces a 7-12 month loss of license. If his BAC was above .15% at the time he was administered the Alcotest, then he will have to have an ignition interlock device installed on his car for up to one year following the suspension.
In short, drunk driving convictions in New Jersey pose many hardships. This is why it is usually in a defendant’s best interest to hire an experienced NJ DWI attorney who will comb through the state’s evidence and work with the prosecution to secure a downgrade or dismissal.